Citizenship, Service and


From the Atlantic Ocean’s crashing surf along the rocky coast, to the 5,268 ft. Mt. Katahdin where the Appalachian Trail begins or ends for hikers, the scenic six northern counties Maine comprise the Katahdin Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, Incorporated. It contains 17,981 square miles, making it the largest council in land area east of the Mississippi, and the most eastern Council in the contiguous 48 states. Our council represents approximately two-thirds of the land area and about one-third of the population of the State of Maine.


Since August of 1920, the Katahdin Area Council’s mission has been to: “serve others by helping to instill values in young people and, in other ways, to prepare them to make ethical choices during their lifetime in achieving their full potential”.

Our “vision statement” is: The Boy Scouts of America is the nation’s foremost youth program of character development and values-based leadership training. In the future, Scouting will continue to: 

  • Offer young people responsible fun and adventure.
  • Instill in young people lifetime values and develop in them ethical character as expressed in the Scout Oath & Law.
  • Train young people in citizenship, service, and leadership.
  • Serve America’ s communities and families with its quality, values-based program.

For more information about our camps, click here.

To view our privary policy, click here.

Katahdin Area Council Staff

Scott Harvey
Scout Executive
Vicki Mower
Office Manager & Camp Registrar
Pat Wilking
Scout Shop Manager
Chuck Major
District Director (Hancock & Waldo)
Art Morgan
Penobscot Valley District Executive
Stephen Hughes
North Star & Washington County District Executive
Adam Briggs
Penquis District Executive
Chuck Major
Camp Director
Tony Major
Camp Program Specialist
Bud Hoffses
Camp Ranger
Belinda Hoffses
Camp Registrar (Off season reservations)
Art Morgan
MHA Director
Beth Rote
Accounting Specialist
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.